Unsere Partner

Alle Partner arbeiten als Kunst- und Kulturvermittler, Kulturmanager und Nachwuchsförderer seit Jahren im Internationalen Kulturaustausch.

Sie verbindet eine mehrjährige enge Zusammenarbeit im Rahmen vorhergegangener transkultureller Projekte.

Ihre Aktivitäten im Rahmen der Entwicklung und Festigung von Projekten mit Circusformen, auch im sozialen Kontext, und dem damit verbundenen internationalen Wissentransfer bilden eine wichtige Ressource für die Ziele der »Flying Circus Academy«.

Babawatoto Centre for Children and Youth 
www.babawatotocentre.org
www.babawatotofitforlife.net 

Das Babawatoto Centre for Children and Youth wurde 2006 gegründet. Es liegt in Mburahati kwa-jongo einem ärmlichen und dicht bevölkerten Stadtteil von Dar es Salaam, Tansania.

Das Babawatoto Centre hat sich das Ziel gesetzt, Kinder, Jugendliche und Gemeinschaften, die an den Rand der Gesellschaft gedrängt sind, zu bestärken, die Herausforderungen von Armut, Kriminalität und Krankheiten mittels Kunst, Sport, Aus- und Weiterbildungen zu überwinden. Die Aktivitäten des Kulturzentrums erreichen täglich über 200 Kinder.

Wir wünschen uns eine Gesellschaft, in der Kinder und Jugendliche ihr soziales Potenzial erkennen und ihre Rechte und ihre Würde anerkannt werden.

Unsere Aufgabe ist es den Kinderschutz zu fördern und vernachlässigte Kinder durch Fürsprache und Aufmerksamkeitstraining, Kunst, Sport und Bildung zu stärken. Unser Ziel ist es damit den Weg für eine produktive Teilhabe an der Gesellschaft zu ebnen.

Als eine Organisation, die ihre Aktivitäten für die Rechte der Kinder einsetzt, sind wir mit einer Vielzahl von Aufgaben konfrontiert, die den Schutz vor HIV/AIDS, Vermittlung des Gesundheitswesens und kulturelle Faktoren mit einschliessen.

Deshalb wollen wir dazu beitragen Kinder vor Gewalt, Missbrauch und Ausbeutung zu schützen mit dem besonderen Fokus auf Kinder, die ohne angemessene Sorgfalt aufwachsen, auf Kinder in Not und auf Kinder in Arbeit.

Unsere Rolle im Projekt »Flying Circus Academy« ist die Durchführung der 1. Mobilität, die Auswahl und Anleitung der Tansanischen Trainer in den Mobilities und zur Realisierung des Videotutorials, dem Ergebnis des Projektes, beizutragen.

  • gallery-image
  • gallery-image
  • gallery-image

Collectif clowns d’ailleurs et d’ici 
www.ccai.fr 

Der 2002 gegründete Verein Collectif Clowns d’ailleurs et d’ici (CCAI), ist eine französische Initiative, die sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, einen multikulturellen und sozialen Aspekt in die Zirkusarbeit zu bringen.
Er wurde durch das Zusammentreffen von Det Khuon, dem Mitbegründer und künstlerischem Leiter der gemeinnützigen Zirkusschule Phare Ponleu Selpak in Kambodscha, mit französischen Artisten ins Leben gerufen.

Von Anfang an wurde die Beteiligung des Kollektivs auf vier Säulen gestellt
:

  • Unterstützung bei der Produktion von Shows
  • Hilfe bei der Organisation von Tourneen in Europa
  • Fort- und Ausbildung der Schüler und Lehrer
  • Strukturierung und Ausrüstung der Zirkusschule
     

Die Entwicklung der Zirkusarbeit, die Verbesserung der Lebensbedingungen und die Professionalisierung der jungen Artisten und Techniker bilden die Grundlage der Arbeit von CCAI mit der Schule Phare Ponleu Selpak.

Das CCAI ist der französische Partner des Projektes »Flying Circus Academy«. Das Kollektiv hat nach einem Bewerbungsverfahren vier erfahrene Trainer ausgewählt:
Camille Bancel (Tanz, Trapez und Tuch) Marianna Boldini (Bodenakrobatik), Claire Jarjat (Trapez) und Marc Verhille (Jonglage).

Das Kollektiv CCAI sieht sich als Verbindung zwischen den französischen Trainern und den anderen Partnern und wird außerdem die gastgebende Organisation des Fachaustausches im März 2018 in Frankreich sein.

  • gallery-image
  • gallery-image
  • gallery-image

Goethe-Institut Tanzania 
www.goethe.de/ins/ts/de/index.html

Das Goethe-Institut e.V. ist das Kulturinstitut der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in Tansania. Wir fördern die Kenntnis der deutschen Sprache in Tansania und pflegen die internationale kulturelle Zusammenarbeit.

Das Goethe-Institut hat eine lange Geschichte in Tansania. Das erste Institut wurde 1962 eröffnet und vermittelte den Zugang zur Kultur in Deutschland und der Welt bis 1998. Aus internen Gründen wurde das Institut 1998 geschlossen. Nach zehn Jahren wurde das Goethe-Institut 2008 in Dar es Salaam dann wieder neu eröffnet.

Unser Ziel ist die bereichsübergreifende Qualifizierung von im Kulturbereich tätigen Personen in den Partnerländern des Goethe-Instituts sowie die Pflege der inter-regionalen und internationalen Netzwerkbildungen und des Dialogs zwischen Kulturinstitutionen und der im Kulturbereich aktiven Personen.

Das Goethe-Institut hat in den letzten Jahren mit lokalen und regionalen Organisationen als Partner bei der Kapazitätsentwicklung in den kreativen Industrien mitgewirkt. Es war Antragssteller für das erfolgreiche dreijährige EU-Projekt FIT FOR LIFE: Educating vulnerable youngsters in the arts and creative industries in Dar es Salaam, welches in Tansania die Voraussetzungen für die »Flying Circus Academy« schaffte.

  • gallery-image
  • gallery-image

Phare Ponleu Selpak (PPSA) 
www.phareps.org

Phare Ponleu Selpak (PPSA) oder ,Licht durch Kunst‘ ist eine gemeinnützige kambodschanische Vereinigung, die seit 1994 das Leben von Kindern, jungen Erwachsenen und ihrer Familien mit Kunst und Kultur, Bildungsprogrammen und sozialer Unterstützung verbessert.

Phare Ponleu Selpak glaubt leidenschaftlich an die Kraft der Kunst als Werkzeug für die menschliche Entwicklung und den gesellschaftlichen Wandel. Wir widmen uns der Bereitstellung eines pflegenden und kreativen Umfelds, in dem junge Menschen auf ein qualitativ hochwertiges Kunsttraining, Bildungsangebote und soziale Unterstützung zugreifen können.

Die Region um Battambang in Kambodscha hat mit vielerlei sozialen Problemen zu kämpfen. Kinder brechen die Schule ab, erleben häusliche Gewalt, kämpfen mit Drogenmissbrauch und wandern illegal nach Thailand aus, um dort schlecht bezahlt zu arbeiten und weiterhin mit Ausbeutung und Missbrauch konfrontiert zu sein.

PPSA verfolgt einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz zur Lösung solcherlei sozialer Probleme durch künstlerische Gestaltung, Bildungsangebote und soziale Arbeit.

Die ,Schule für visuelle und angewandte Kunst‘ bietet ein einzigartiges Programm in Kambodscha. Freizeitkurse sind für alle offen, Kinder können sich in Malerei, Zeichnen und Bildhauerei üben. Ein dreijähriges Berufsprogramm bietet Kambodschanern die Möglichkeit, eine Karriere in der Bildenden Kunst, Grafikdesign oder Filmanimation einzuschlagen.

Die ,Schule für darstellende Künste‘ schafft Kindern Zugang zu Zirkus, Theater, Tanz und Musik. Das vierjährige Berufsprogramm bietet einen Weg zur Beschäftigung als Künstler. PPSA-Alumni haben weltweit ihr Studium fortsetzen können oder Engagements erhalten.

Innerhalb der »Flying Circus Academy« sind wir verantwortlich für die zweite Mobilität in Battambang. Wir wählen die kambodschanischen Trainer und Teilnehmer aus, die an dem Projekt beteiligt sind und betreuen sie während der Projektlaufzeit.

  • gallery-image
  • gallery-image

Phare Ponleu Selpak Germany e.V. 
www.pps-deutschland.de

Der Verein Phare Ponleu Selpak Deutschland e.V. gründete sich 2011 als Förderverein zur Unterstützung des Kinderhauses des kambodschanischen Partners Phare Ponleu Selpak (PPSA) in der Region Battambang.

Aufgrund der Kernkompetenzen der Gründungsmitglieder, Künstler und Kulturschaffende aus Berlin, zielen die Aktivitäten bis heute auf einen regen Jugendkulturaustausch zum Zwecke Kultureller Bildung. Dabei wird gezielt auf die psycho - sozialen Bedürfnisse von gesellschaftlich benachteiligten Kindern und Heranwachsenden eingegangen. Dazu realisieren die Gründer bereits seit 2007 Jugend- und Fachaustauschmaßnahmen zwischen Deutschland und Kambodscha, unter anderem mit Unterstützung des Auswärtigen Amtes und der Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Forschung.

Seit 2009 besteht eine weitere aktive Partnerschaft zum Zwecke der Jugendarbeit und kultureller Bildung mit Organisationen in Tansania, die durch die Initiative ,Kultur und Entwicklung‘ des Goethe-Instituts ins Leben gerufen wurde und bis heute gemeinsam begleitet wird.

Im Rahmen des dreijährigen Projektes FIT FOR LIFE wurden in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut Tansania im Kinderzentrum Babawatoto Centre in Dar es Salaam neun junge Circustrainer in vier verschiedenen Circus - Disziplinen durch die kambodschanischen und deutschen Partner weitergebildet. FIT FOR LIFE wurde maßgeblich von der Europäischen Union im Rahmen des Programms Europe Aid gefördert.

Das aktuelle Projekt »Flying Circus Academy« setzt die bisher geleistete Arbeit fort und führt die internationalen Partner erneut zusammen, um bewährte Circus- und Percussionstechniken für die Stärkung der sozialen Kompetenzen benachteiligter Jugendlicher nutzbar zu machen.

  • gallery-image
  • gallery-image
  • gallery-image

ufaFabrik International Culture Centre 
www.ufafabrik.de

Das Internationale Kultur Centrum ufaFabrik fördert engagierte Kultur, Kulturaustausch und kulturelle Bildung. Wir verknüpfen lokale und internationale Kulturen und schaffen so ein dynamisches Feld für die aktive, kreative Teilhabe an Kunst und Kultur für Jung und Alt. Der Veranstaltungsort im Süden des Berliner Stadtzentrums bringt fast täglich Künstler auf die Bühne. Das Kulturcentrum unterstützt Nachwuchstalente und junge, internationale Produktionen. Dazu stellen wir den Künstlern, Gruppen und Ensembles Arbeitsräume, Bühnentechnik, Logistik, fachliche Expertise zur Verfügung.

In Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern aus Berlin und der ganzen Welt führen wir Projekte durch, um die kreative Entwicklung und Ermutigung von Jugendlichen zu fördern. Unsere Bühnen dienen in spielfreien Zeiten als Probeorte, Werkstätten und Kunstlabore für in Berlin ansässige und internationale Kunstschaffende.

Als Projektpartner der »Flying Circus Academy« entsendet die ufaFabrik künstlerische Trainer, die an den Mobilitäten teilnehmen und das Videotutorial mit entwickeln. Auf dem Feld der kulturellen Bildung und insbesondere in den Zusammenhängen Internationales Arbeiten, Circus und Arbeit mit Nachwuchskünstlern bringt die ufaFabrik über 35 Jahre Erfahrung in das Projekt ein.

Die ufaFabrik steuert darüber hinaus organisatorisches KnowHow bei der Projektumsetzung bei. Im Juli 2016 fand das Kick-Off Meeting in der ufaFabrik statt und die dritte Partnermobilität wird im September 2017 ebenfalls von uns ausgerichtet.

  • gallery-image
  • gallery-image
  • gallery-image

Our Partners

All partners have long-term experience as artists, cultural agents or project managers and in the promotion of young artists in the context of international cultural exchange.

The consortium is based on a long-standing cooperation in the context of previous trans-cultural and international projects.

Their activities in the development and consolidation of projects with circus forms – with a particular focus on social issues and international knowledge transfer – is an important resource for the aims of the »Flying Circus Academy«.

Babawatoto Centre for Children and Youth 
www.babawatotocentre.org
www.babawatotofitforlife.net 

The Babawatoto Centre for Children and Youth was established in 2006. It is located at Mburahati kwa-Jongo in Makurumla ward, a very impoverished and densely populated suburb in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.

The Babawatoto Centre is aimed at empowering children, youth and communities on the fringes of society enabling them to overcome the challenges of poverty, crime and diseases by means of visual, performing arts, sports, vocational education and income generating activities. The services of Babawatoto Centre reach more than 200 children each day.

We envision a society where all children and youth realize their full potential in a society that respects their rights and dignity.

Our mission is to promote child protection and empower vulnerable children and youth through, advocacy and awareness trainings, arts, sports, and vocational education.

Our goal is to promote child protection, empower vulnerable children and youth to realize their full potential and enjoy their basic rights so that may become productive members of the society.



As an organization based on children rights, we capture a broad set of issues such as poverty, HIV/AIDS, health, the crisis of humanity but also cultural factors.

This is why we contribute to the protection of children from violence, abuse and exploitation with a particular focus on children without appropriate care, child protection in emergencies, physical and humiliating punishment and children in harmful work.

Our role in the »Flying Circus Academy« project is to implement one of the mobilites of the project, to select and direct the Tanzanian trainers to take part in the mobilities and to contribute in the realization of the final product of the project, the video tutorial.

  • gallery-image
  • gallery-image
  • gallery-image

Collectif clowns d’ailleurs et d’ici 
www.ccai.fr 

The Collectif clowns d'ailleurs et d'ici, founded in 2002, is a French association promoting a social and multicultural circus. It was constituted following the meeting between Det Khuon, artistic director of the Cambodian NGO Phare Ponleu Selpak’s circus school and French artists.

From the beginning, the Collectif's intervention is structured around four axes:

  • assistance with the creation of shows
  • assistance with the organisation of tours in Europe
  • training of the circus school’s students and teachers
  • the structuring and equipment of the circus school of PPSA
     

The development of the circus school, the improvement of living conditions and the professionalization of the young artists and technicians constitute the basis of the CCAI's missions.

CCAI is the French partner of the FCA project. The Collectif selected 4 French “senior” trainers after the dissemination of a call for participation: Camille Bancel (aerial), Marianna Boldini (acrobatics), Claire Jarjat (aerial) and Marc Verhille (juggling).

It is the relay structure between the French trainers and the other partners and will also be the welcoming structure during the last mobility in March 2018 in France.

  • gallery-image
  • gallery-image
  • gallery-image

Goethe-Institut Tanzania 
www.goethe.de/ins/ts/en/index.html

The Goethe-Institut is the cultural institute of the Federal Republic of Germany in Tanzania. We promote knowledge of the German language in Tanzania and foster international cultural cooperation.

The Goethe-Institut has a long history in Tanzania. The first office opened in 1962 and provided access to culture from Germany and the World until 1998. The office was closed due to internal reasons. After ten years the Goethe-Institut then re-opened in the year 2008 in Dar es Salaam. 

Our aim is to strengthen the cross-sector qualification of people in the cultural sector of the Goethe-Institut’s partner countries as well as to foster inter-regional and international network building and dialogue between cultural institutions and people working in the cultural sector.

The Goethe-Institut has in the past years partnered with local and regional organizations for capacity building in in the creative industries. It was applicant for the successful three year EU-Project FIT FOR LIFE: Educating vulnerable youngsters in the arts and creative industries in Dar es Salaam which prepared the foundation in Tanzania for the »Flying Circus Academy«.

  • gallery-image
  • gallery-image

Phare Ponleu Selpak (PPSA) 
www.phareps.org

Phare Ponleu Selpak (PPSA) or ‘The Brightness of the Arts’ is a non-profit Cambodian association improving the lives of children, young adults, and their families with art schools, educational programs, and social support since 1994.

Phare Ponleu Selpak believes passionately in the power of the arts as a tool for human development and social change and is dedicated to provide a nurturing and creative environment where young people can access quality arts training, education, and social support.

Today in Battambang, children and families still face many social problems. Children drop out of school, experience domestic violence, drug abuse, and migrate illegally to work in extremely poor conditions in Thailand where they face exploitation and abuse. We take a holistic approach to solving social problems through the arts, education, and social work. 

Phare Ponleu Selpak seeks to provide education, access to the arts, vocational training as well as professional pathways to the children and young adults of our community.


The Visual and Applied Arts School is the foremost program of its kind in Cambodia. Leisure classes are open to all, introducing children to painting, drawing, and sculpture. The rigorous three-year professional program gives Cambodians the chance to build careers in the Fine Arts, Graphic Design, and Animation.

The Performing Arts School gives local children access to circus, theatre, dance, and music. The four-year professional program provides a pathway to employment as a performer. PPSA alumni have gone on to perform and study around the world. Circus performances are held on campus every week.

Within the »Flying Circus Academy« we are responsible for the second mobility in Battambang and in selecting and guiding the Cambodian trainers and participants involved in the project.

  • gallery-image
  • gallery-image

Phare Ponleu Selpak Germany e.V. 
www.pps-deutschland.de

The association Phare Ponleu Selpak Germany e.V. was founded 2011 as a support association for the children's home of the Cambodian partner Phare Ponleu Selpak (PPSA) in the region Battambang.

The activities of the association aim at a lively youth culture exchange for the purpose of cultural education and is based on to the core competencies of the founding members – artists and cultural workers from Berlin.

The specific objective is to address the psycho-social needs of socially disadvantaged children and young people.

Since 2007, the founders have been implementing youth, trainers and artists exchanges between Germany and Cambodia supported by the Federal Foreign Office of the Republic of Germany and the Department for Education, Science and Research of the Berlin Senate.

Since 2009, a further active partnership has been established for the purpose of youth work and cultural education with organizations in Tanzania, which was founded by the ‘Culture and Development’ Department of the Goethe-Institut e.v. and which exists to date.

Within the framework of the three-year project FIT FOR LIFE, nine young circus students in four different circus disciplines were trained by the Cambodian and German partners in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut Tanzania branch at the Babawatoto Centre in Dar es Salaam. FIT FOR LIFE was mainly funded by the European Union within the framework of the Europe Aid program.

The current project »Flying Circus Academy« continues the work so far and keeps up the international and intercontinental partnership in order to furher develop reliable circus and percussion techniques to strengthen social skills of disadvantaged youths.

  • gallery-image
  • gallery-image
  • gallery-image

ufaFabrik International Culture Centre 
www.ufafabrik.de

The ufaFabrik International Culture Centre promotes the engagement in culture through exchange and education. We combine local and international cultures and thereby create a dynamic field for the participation in the arts and culture for the young and old alike.

Almost every day, artists come together on stage at the south Berlin venue. The program includes theatre, music, cabaret, vaudeville, dance, world music, and children’s circus and theatre. Day events, seminars, and conferences on artistic, social, and sustainability initiatives round out the offerings.

The cultural centre supports young talents and young international productions. We provide working spaces, stage equipment, logistical support, technical know-how and professional expertise to the artists, groups and ensembles. The team at the Cultural Centre arranges contacts with international exchange programs, festivals, and institutions to give young artists access to the global stage.

In collaboration with partners from Berlin and around the world, we carry out projects which promote the creative development and encouragement of young people. The International Culture Centre ufaFabrik promotes committed culture, cultural exchange and cultural education.

As a project partner of the »Flying Circus Academy«, ufaFabrik selects trainers in order to participate in the mobilities and take an active part in the development of the video tutorials.

In the field of cultural education, and especially in the context of international exchange, circus art and the support of young talents, the ufaFabrik brings more than 35 years of experience to the project.

ufaFabrik also contributes organizational know-how to the implementation of the project. In July 2016, the Kick-off meeting took place at ufaFabrik and the third mobility in September 2017 will also be hosted by us.

  • gallery-image
  • gallery-image
  • gallery-image